The Odd Car Dilemma!πŸš—πŸ˜†

If you have read my blog for a while, you will know that I do not like change! Change in general makes me anxious (and freaks me out πŸ˜‚) , especially a change in routine. Which is every Autistic persons worst NIGHTMARE!

Back at the end of May, I passed my driving test and I bought myself a little car. I was so happy and couldn’t wait to start driving to work and to never get on a crowded bus again! I had planned to start commuting to work in a months time…

Then weeks turned into 5 months and I still hadn’t driven to work.

I made so many excuses through those months and at the start I didn’t register why. It was only until I starting reading an article online about Autism that I soon realised the reason I was struggling to drive to work was because it would change my routine, and the thought of a new routine made me anxious.

Then one morning, when I was stood waiting for the bus in the rain I starting thinking of my oddΒ car dilemma. I thought of all the reasons why I wanted to drive; to become independent, to never get on public transport again and to be able to do a job I have wanted to do for such a long time! I could of been driving to work at that very second but instead I was wasting my time on a bus that was running late. The thought made me anxious, but I was going to have to change my routine otherwise I wasn’t going to get very far with my goals…

Then I definitely had enough as the bus was 25 minutes late and my uniform was soaked! (And being late made me even more anxious!)Β πŸ™„πŸ˜‚

A couple of days later, I was sat in my car getting ready to set off to work for the first time. I had so many nightmares that night worrying what could go wrong once I entered the city. I also started having second thoughts about driving and thought about catching the bus so that my routine wouldn’t change. I talked myself out of the it and made my way to work.

Β Once I started driving every negative thought vanished and I walked into work with a smile on my face! My colleagues were impressed but also shocked that I arrived an hour early πŸ˜‚ But I didn’t care! I drove to work and achieved my goal!

I’ve been driving to work for the past 2 weeks and have been loving every second of it! It’s been one of the best things I’ve ever achieved and I definitely won’t be catching the bus ever again!

Georgina X

 

6 Comments

  1. Dear Georgina. We love the blog – it’s great. We are so proud of you overcoming your anxieties. It is very pleasing to see how you rationalise things and the strategy you use to overcome your problems. Well done. Love you. G and Gxxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Being able to push yourself to achieve something as this is soo amazing! It’s inspiring for people who want to make a big or small change in their life and/or routine but are stopped by fear. We all just need a little push and motivation! Was really nice to read this πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment